Thread: Mechanism with vertical shaft

Mechanism with vertical shaft

Hi,

First off, I am an artist, not an engineer! I'm building a spinning artwork...

I have built a mechanism that has a vertical shaft with a bracket at the top. An artwork bolts to this bracket with a load of approx 5 kg. The artwork then spins at approx 120rpm.

The pictured design (photo) works fine, except there is some play in the shaft / bearings that I would like to eradicate. Since building this version I have done a lot of reading and updated the design as shown in the diagram.

Currently I have a clearance fit on the shaft/bearings. I understand that I can heat fit the bearings and this will result in zero play. However, I am confused about how the load is distributed. So here is my question...

If the radial bearings are heat fitted to the shaft, doesn't this remove the load from the thrust bearing? My understanding is that I want the weight on the thrust bearing and to use the radial bearings for guidance.

Any advice will be gratefully received !
    Attached Images Attached Images

My compliments to an artist trying to do engineering. Your work looks good.

"some play in the shaft / bearings". Quantify that. How much play? Can you measure it with calipers?

You must also quantify what is acceptable and what is not. There is no such thing as "no play". You might achieve "no visible play" but there is still some play. Engineers work with numbers. Give us some.

Is this "play" due to imbalance? If so, the best solution is going to be in balancing.

Are you sure this play is actually in the bearings? Are you sure its not in small deflections of the support structure itself? One reason I ask is that the support material appears to be 3D printed, which means plastic. Am I wrong?

I seriously doubt that your situation is severe enough to require heat fitting the bearings. You only see that in high speed, high accuracy spindle assemblies. Not in a 5kg 120 rpm rotating framework.