Thread: Dimensions for non-linear geometry

Associate Engineer

Dimensions for non-linear geometry

Hey everyone. I am currently an engineering student with some experience in autodesk inventor and solidworks and I have a question for you guys my instructor just cannot seem to answer. When building parts with straight edges or linear curves I find the modeling and drawing methodology to be straightforward and simple. However, once you enter the realm of non-linear geometry this changes quickly and I cannot fathom how its done.

When engineers design and create car frames or fighter jet wings how do they dimension these models when there is so many organic shapes intermingling? I have played around with T-splines and made some organic models myself but when it comes to the drawing stage to put dimensions into the part I am at a loss as to how this is done. Does anyone have any experience in this field or perhaps an idea where there might be some resources on the issue? Textbook or otherwise? Thank you for your time everyone!
    Last edited by x355; 12-04-2016 at 12:29 AM.

In the modern world where a 2D engineering drawing is required we create many section views along the length of the geometry. Think of a loaf of bread and each section view is where the slice is and that would be detailed. For this system to work there must be a common reference or zero location from which the dimensions and tolerances are established. This is called a datum. Additionally, there would be an engineering note on the drawing that would specify the dimensional conformance between the section views (slice point) indicating the dimension and tolerance conformance requirements.

Where a 2D engineering drawing is not required we use 3D model based definition methods. This is where the geometry is manufactured directly from the CAD model. We have technology that can read the 3D model and manufacture and dimensional tolerance verify.